Stacks Image 323


Five Towns Early Learning Center uses High Scope Curriculum. The curriculum and programs are based on early childhood research and practice which provides an understanding of how young children learn and develop. In developmental theory, human development is characterized as being divided into 5 distinct domains: social, physical, intellectual, creative and emotional, and that development occurs in four sequential stages; sensory-motor, pre-operational, concrete operations, and formal operations. Each human being progresses through these developmental stages in the same order at generally the same ages. The developmental stage years and approximate ages that they occur are: Sensory-motor (Birth through 36 months), Pre-operational (3-8 years), Concrete operations (8-12 years), and Formal operations (12 years to adult).

At Five Towns Early Learning, programs and curriculum are designed for children who are in the first three stages of development. These programs are implemented within the context of children’s everyday experiences, in learner centered environments and rely heavily on the embedded curriculum in daily routines. ( Separation and reunion with parents, meals, activity preparation and clean-up, taking care of one’s own needs such as being responsible for one’s belongings, dressing and undressing, responding to physical cues such as hunger, thirst, the need for rest, etc., participating in large group, small group and individual activities, and so on) The routine balances active and quiet activities and allows for making choices among a variety of activities, both teacher directed and individually initiated. The educational program builds on individual strengths, interests, and background experiences, while promoting the learning of new information, constructing knowledge and developing new skills through active, hands-on experiences with diverse materials, people and ideas. Family input is sought at enrollment with a detailed child development history from the parent and throughout the school year by means of parent-teacher conferences, informal face-to-face or phone conversations.

Pre-K classroom is organized into clearly defined learning centers that evolve as the curriculum changes. Materials and equipment selected for these centers foster creativity, exploration, and inquiry. Learning centers are accessible for children, are bright, attractive and inviting, foster active engagement, are clearly defined and labeled, and are equipped with age- appropriate materials that are integrated within the daily routine and curriculum plans.
Stacks Image 329
Stacks Image 332
Stacks Image 335

Become a Volunteer

The Five Towns Early Learning Center offers volunteer opportunities for members of the community. Volunteers from NCJW, Peninsula Section are an integral part of our program, coming weekly to work with the children. High-school students and those who need community service, can find volunteer opportunities here. If you enjoy being with young children, are interested in reading stories to children or would like to share your talents with us, please call the Center at 239-4660. Our volunteers find that what they get out of the experience for exceeds what they give.

How To Donate

Your generosity has a direct impact on the lives of young children. The Five Towns Early Learning Center is a not-for-profit (501c3) organization which depends on support from foundations, government agencies and individuals to fulfill its mission. Your donation is tax deductible in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Internal Revenue Service.

Five Towns Early Learning Center
112 Wahl Avenue
Inwood, NY 11096
Tel: (516) 239-4660
Fax: (516) 239-4910
Contact Us Form